BBS-ASDP Round 3!

Signed up kind of last minute to do the Boston Ballet School’s adult summer program again this year.

The cost keeps creeping up and with an emergency HVAC system replacement in my condo earlier this year I was questioning whether it was fiscally responsible to do it, but… it was a great experience the last two years and I appreciate the opportunity to escape the routine of my regular dance existence, so I entered my credit card number and clicked submit before I could talk myself out of it for the 4,000th time.

Program starts Monday. I’d been stalking the website to see when they were going to post the day-by-day schedule. It finally went up this week and… hm. Not nearly the variety of teachers I’ve seen in the past. Actually the entire schedule looks a bit… paltry.

So I did some googling and found this. BBS’s head of adult programming took off for sunnier skies, it seems. Not surprising, but definitely disappointing. I think he was supposed to have taken a job in San Fran last fall and somehow ended up not, but clearly the writing was on the wall that he was on his way out. It’ll be a tough loss for the school on the whole, but I’m particularly nervous about what this spells for BBS’s adult program.

I guess the next couple weeks will give some insight to that. Cautiously optimistic. Sigh.

A couple things I noted on the schedule…

Lots of familiar teachers. I felt like there was a pretty big variety last year, especially in the Intermediate level, but this year it seems to be just a small handful of BBS faculty regulars. I’ve taken class with all of them except one and it’s a great group, but bummed to be missing out on some of the teachers we got to experience last year.

Intermediate and Advanced are combined again this year for Rep/Variations. That’s how it was my first year and it was kind of a shit-show. I think they did it because originally there weren’t enough people signed up for those two levels to justify having separate rep/variation classes, though they must have gotten a bunch of last-minute registrations, because there ended up being close to 50 people between the two. Last year they kept the levels separate and I thought everything went much more smoothly. But this year we’re combined again. Whether this is due to low registration or a lack of interested faculty… hard to say.

As for the “extras” (lectures, etc.) there appears to be only one this year: the company dancer Q&A which I assume will consist of Sarah Wroth and Corina Gill since they’re both on the schedule to teach that day. Sarah spoke two years ago and I took a Swan Lake master class from Corina this winter. They’re both great ladies, so I’m looking forward to hearing from them, but I’m kind of disappointed that’s the only “special” thing on the docket. No PT lecture (which generally devolved into people just asking advice on their own aches and pains, but did have some good info), no history lecture, no opportunity to attend company class.

Lest you think I’m all doom and gloom, there are things I’m quite excited about.

First off is a new conditioning program that they’re offering in the enrichment session. This replaces the Pilates option from prior years. I really liked Pilates, but am psyched for a more comprehensive training program. The guy teaching it works with the company dancers and school year-round, so should be a great experience and hopefully will offer some insights I can take into my regular life for cross-training, etc.

Also, the other option during the enrichment session is (still) modern, but there will be two teachers this year. I liked the one who taught previously (and who is still there), but am looking forward to another perspective since modern isn’t something I get to do as often as I’d like.

And then there’s the rep/variations which will be from Giselle. Though it’s one of the classics I’m sadly completely unacquainted with it, so I’m glad to getting to know it a bit!

Will try to post updates as I go. Clearly this blog has not been at the forefront of my priority list lately, but I’ll try to consciously move it up a bit!

Leave a Reply

