ASDP – Winding down

Getting close to the end… sadness! It’s been such a fun ride!

Wednesday:

Modern — We have a drummer to accompany us in class. Yet I apparently chose this day to march to one unseen and unheard by anyone but myself… Was having some sort of processing issues and felt as though I was perpetually out of step. WTF?! I blame the fact that I got to the studio frazzled. I left work with plenty of time, but right before the last stop on the T the train ground to a halt and didn’t move for a good 10 minutes. “Signal problems,” they said. Grr. I’ll give them a signal problem! And worst, we were only a few hundred feet from the station. I hate when you can see where you need to be… just can’t get there. Then it took ages to get out of the parking lot because of traffic on the main road. A mile or so later I came across an accident blocking half the road. None of this had any bearing on the end result, which was that I still got to the studio with time to change and get into class before it started, but my disgruntled-ness spilled over into class. Or something. And of course this is the day that the videographer was in the studios getting footage in case they decide to do a promotional video. Grumbles. At least we have one more modern class on Friday in which I plan to redeem myself.

Technique — For the first time we had a repeat teacher! Kristen Beckwith was leading us. I found her class very lyrical last week and this one was the same. I felt much more capable this time, though. Maybe because I had a better idea of what her expectations? Not sure, but the frustration I felt the week before was gone. I pushed myself on technique and tried to make it somewhat pretty. She has a great way of incorporating clean technique and artistry. More than once she reminded us that we were supposed to be having fun… it’s okay to “dance” it and, in fact, it’s encouraged! Good class. We get her one more time on Friday.

Typically we have rep or variation after technique class, but instead we had a Q&A session with some BB pros! Principals Petra Conti and Eris Nezha and corps de ballet member Sarah Wroth kindly shared an hour with us talking about their experience as dancers. They talked about how they got into ballet, how they transitioned from student to professional, how they approach their roles, etc.

Nezha and Conti are a husband-wife pair, only been with the company since last fall, coming from Teatro alla Scalla in Italy. Nezha sounds like he was chosen to do ballet without really knowing what he was signing up for, but fell in love with it, got his training and worked his way up. Conti came from a family of dancers and said she always danced around the house, and announced around age 10 that she wanted to pursue training at the highest level possible. It was only then that she realized that things that came to her quite naturally (flexibility, high arches) were highly desirable. While Nezha said his first four years of training were the most challenging, Conti said her first few years were the easiest since so many things came naturally to her and from what she told us of her career it’s clear that hard work combined with a ton of natural talent has propelled her to star level at a young age. They are an adorable couple, clearly in love with one another and with ballet. In spite of being international stars they seem very grounded.

While it was great to hear from them, Sarah Wroth’s story was one I could relate to a bit better. As opposed to those who have been groomed for a professional career from a very early age, her story was more of an accidental ballerina. She told us that she started ballet at 7 because her mom wanted her to have some sort of physical outlet after school. A friend was taking dance, so she started taking dance. It was something to do. But it turns out that she was a bit obsessive with getting it right. And the harder she worked, the better she got. Still, she didn’t think of it as a valid career choice until she went to college where she studied dance and began to realize exactly how much passion she had for ballet. She auditioned for various companies including BB, her “reach” company. She didn’t expect to be accepted since she had no professional experience, but at the end she was offered a job. As someone who has had varied passions throughout her life, I’ve often wondered, with a bit of envy, how someone can commit to a career path at the age of 10 and stick with it. Most people don’t stick with it, of course. But there’s always that curiosity about, “What would have happened if I weren’t such a dilettante?” It was nice to hear from someone who took time to reach a decision about what role ballet would play in her life and was able to make it. Maybe her career trajectory has been different because of her delayed decision. But she also seems to be very thoughtful about her career and I expect that she won’t be one of those dancers left wondering what the heck to do with herself once the pointe shoes get put on the shelf. While I was listening to her talk I kept thinking, geez, I’d love to go out for a drink with this woman, she’s hilarious! I was also struck by how collegial all the dancers were… granted, we were only seeing a tiny fraction of the company, but I’ve heard that they are a fairly close-knit company, not as cut-throat as things like “Black Swan” would have us believe. The way they interacted and spoke to us certainly supported that claim. Lots of mutual respect and support.

Thursday:

Pilates — Last one! Class size seems to keep dwindling, but the diehards among us were there. A few new things… and a weird intercostal muscle twinge for me on some of them. But good class overall. I really would like to do more with Pilates since it has helped me to feel much stronger and centered.

Technique — C. Anderson taught our class again. Even though we’ve only had one other technique class with him he’s been kind of a constant presence through our rep classes. No major revelations on this particular day, just continuing the struggle to maximize my minimal degree of turnout and figuring out how to keep my ribs down but my chest lifted.

Repertory — We continued cleaning up the Swan Lake polonaise, but only had about half an hour because…

Lecture — Thursday’s session ran a bit long so that we could have a lecture from a PT who works with athletes and performing artists (including, obviously, dancers!). She talked a bit about the basic differences that come in treating dancers as opposed to other athletes, such as the fact that it’s neither desirable nor advantageous to keep dancers out of the studio entirely while they recover from injuries, but that they have moved more towards modified classes that will allow the dancer to maintain a degree of strength and technique while allowing the injury to heal. She talked about injury treatment and took a lot of questions from people in the audience. I didn’t learn too much that I hadn’t already picked up from A) being a nurse, B) following Lisa Howell online, and C) the e-mails I receive from IADMS. Thankfully I haven’t had too many issues with injuries, so I would have liked to hear more about maximizing our abilities as adults rather than repairing muscle tears, but that’s just me. I thought this was a great lecture topic, just that it could have been put together a little differently to maximize the time.

Next post… last day and final impressions!

One thought on “ASDP – Winding down

  1. […] as Siegfried. He told us about Nezha being from La Scala to which I was all, “Eek, I know, he and his wife came to talk to us during the ASDP!!!” Okay, that’s what I said in my head. Externally I only managed to smile and nod […]

Leave a Reply

