Going Pro…

I mentioned some “competition” in my All Kylián post.

That needs some elaboration.

So, maybe you remember about a year or so ago I posted about being part of a flash mob. Well, the music school’s gala time has come upon us again!

This year’s theme is “1940s Dance Hall,” including….

A Dancing with the Stars competition.

I wasn’t asked to be a star (shocking, I know), but I am… a “Pro.” Ooh, I do like the sound of that! 😉

I am not quite sure how I got roped into this. All I recall is being asked if I could show up on a certain day to rehearse and I said, “Okay!” and it’s been a whirlwind since then.

Alright, it wasn’t as mysterious as all that. My dance friend who is on the gala committee asked me and one of our other dancers to participate and, while I didn’t really know what I was getting into, I was game to give it a go.

First rehearsal was sans star. Thankfully I wasn’t responsible for choreographing the piece… our flash mob choreographer (also my lyrical teacher) took care of that. She and I worked out some of the ideas for the beginning, including our theme (which I’m keeping under wraps for the moment!). Got the general idea down and were ready to present it to our “star.”

Now let me tell you that the idea of dancing with A) a stranger and B) a non-dancer is a bit intimidating. I had no idea what I was going to be faced with. I assumed the fact that he agreed to do this meant he was — at the very least — outgoing and a good sport, but you really just don’t know. Thankfully my assumptions were spot on and he showed up with his game face on. He’s also got a competitive streak, which helps.

So we’ve been working our way through the dance for the past couple months, and teaching our star about chassées and kick-ball-changes along the way (with moderate success). I’m also grateful that the star’s daughter is a dancer and his wife does yoga, so they’ve been tutoring him in the off hours to prep him for the competition. Oh, and he’s done his part to fill the tables at the gala which will hopefully ensure lots of votes, though honestly I think his supporters will be pleasantly surprised and won’t just be voting for him out of kindness. He’s really worked hard and come a long way as a dancer.

Last night was our dress rehearsal. We didn’t get to dance on the actual floor in the actual space. Instead we were performing in a parochial school cafeteria with a highly polished linoleum floor (eek!). But the shoeless version of our dance went well. I also got to take my costume for a twirl for the first time.

Finding a costume was a bit of a headache. A local theatre was supposed to have stuff for us, but their ’40s-themed items were a bit… flashy. And our dance was meant to be a bit more demure. So I went out shopping picturing exactly in my head what I wanted (a high-waisted skirt, A-line, and a poufy, short-sleeved blouse) and found… nothing. A few shirt-dress type things that might have worked if their hemline didn’t land squarely mid-thigh. Argh. But then, an epiphany! I remembered my mom giving me a dress that one of my great-aunts knit for my grandmother, which would make it… maybe not 100% vintage 1940s, but not too far off! I found it tucked away in my closet, tried it on… et, parfait! I got a Gellish manicure last week in a bright red. Just need to get the hair and makeup and we’ll be good to go!

As for my competition… the two female stars are dancing with men from a local ballroom studio, so I don’t know anything about them. But I’m, of course, rooting for my fellow pro from our studio. Haven’t seen her piece yet, but we had the same choreographer, so I’m sure it will be adorable.

The countdown is on… check back this weekend for the results! I’m hoping for straight 10s!

One thought on “Going Pro…

  1. […] case you were wondering how my DWTS competition […]

Leave a Reply

