Where are your pants?!

Frivolous Friday ranty-post (because I feel like posting something, but don’t really have anything noteworthy to discuss… until tomorrow… after tomorrow night I will have something noteworthy to discuss… and that something is All Kyliàn).

My rant is this…

Children need to wear pants!

Or skirts. Or dresses. I don’t care…

But they need to cover their little tiny behinds!

Why am I saying this?

Because I have seen a rash of children exiting our dance studio wearing their leotard, tights, a parka, and shoes.

And that be it.

No pants.

Occasionally they have been asked, “Where are your pants?”

The shocking replies have been:

“I didn’t have time to put them on.”

“I didn’t wear them today.”

Or the classic, “Idunno.”

If I ever had the audacity to set foot outside my dance studio without pants my mother would have tanned my hide. And not just because my first dance studio was next door to a tattoo parlor (though I’m sure that played a role). In fact, I remember her distinctly telling me that I must never leave the studio in just my dance clothes… I had to put street clothes over top. I think it was a studio rule, too.

But the worst part is, this isn’t just kids being kids… I have seen plenty of parents bringing their children to class and taking them from class in this get-up. Small children who do not yet make their own fashion decisions.

Pardon the colloquialism, but WTF?!?!?

Since when is this acceptable?

I don’t consider myself to be excessively prudish, but there are some things I feel just fall into the realm of common decency. You can wear an itsy-bitsy-teeny-weenie-yellow-polka-dot-bikini at the beach… but when you leave the beach, throw something on over it. Similarly, prance around the studio in a tights and leo all you want, but the minute you set foot outside you had better be wearing real clothes!

I’m not asking for anything complicated here. No fancy dress required. A pair of sweatpants will suffice. Takes, what, like 5 seconds to put on?

And hell, even if you don’t share my views on what constitutes decency…

Dudes, it is COLD out there in my part of the world. In fact, there’s a blizzard raging outside as I type. Even if it was considered decent you wouldn’t catch me out there in just a parka over my dance clothes. Because it’s cold. And I would be miserable. And whiny. And grouchy. So why would you let your kid outside in that sort of an outfit. Hm? HMMM????

I keep hoping our studio will make a rule about this and post it, but so far I’ve seen nothing. So instead I mutter passive-aggressively under my breath when I see these kids escaping onto the street in their fashionable little displays hoping maybe someone will catch my drift.

Okay, end the crotchety, fuddy-duddy, old-lady rant. I’ve been typing this in my robe and need to go find my pants…

8 thoughts on “Where are your pants?!

  1. Michael says:

    Hi Rori. I like your posts…particularly this one!!! I REALLY don’t think of it as an “old lady” rant, but more the truth. I think that it’s more important than ever these days (with the increased pedophile cases) for kids AND adults (kidnappings, rape, etc.) alike to be covered up going into and leaving ballet class. Don’t know if you have access to my email through this post, but would love to chat with you outside of the public eye.

  2. kiwiktn says:

    Oh dear, I agree and disagree with you on so many levels! And I’m only going to voice it because I like how you write your blog and I think you can handle it 😉

    I TOTALLY agree that ballet gear belongs in the studio, just like a bikini (or men in togs) should be covered up when not in sight of the beach. (Here I’m unable to link youtube, but I want to insert “Trumpet’s Simplifying Summer” with “Togs/Undies”)

    I TOTALLY agree that naked legs with only a jacket over the top half is inappropriate for town – boys or girls.

    and I TOTALLY agree that it’s too freakin’ cold to be doing that at this time of year anyway.

    Now, I’m not a *raging* feminist or anything but an article I found last week sums up how I feel about some stuff:

    ‘Introductions I’m sick of reading:
    ‘‘Police are urging women to walk in groups and stay in well-lit areas after a group of a men preyed on [read, gang-raped] a teenager as she left a party in Sydney’s northwest.’’

    Introductions I’d like to read instead:
    ‘‘Police are urging men not to gang-rape teenagers as they leave parties…’’ ‘
    From an Article titled, “Stop telling women to be afraid,” http://www.dailylife.com.au/all-about-women/stop-telling-women-to-be-afraid-20130306-2fjy5.html

    Just because I find the injustice so unfair, and because I hate being called a hysterical (!!) feminist if I point this out to some men.

    I’m not even sure if this post is coming across the right way 😉 But I’m feeling that this is way more an ‘old lady rant’ than the one you did!

  3. roriroars says:

    Hm, I guess the post came across differently than intended, because in no way did I mean to imply that these kids are encouraging people who may have sinister intentions and that’s why they need to be clothed.

    Perhaps instead of “decency” I should have used the term “appropriate” or “respectful” because that’s really what bothers me. (It also bothers me when I see people wearing jeans to a professional ballet production… I don’t care how much you spent on the jeans, they’re still casual-wear.)

    I understand that little kids can be finicky and insist on wearing their Superman costume long after Halloween is over or insist on going to ballet in just their tights and their leotard and parents have to pick their battles and let certain things drop. But for the school-age kids… here’s the thing. I know they are proud of being dancers and I’m guessing that, in many cases, they want to wear their dance uniform outside the studio as a way to show off that identity. But this isn’t a respectful way to go about it. The whole, “I didn’t have time” or “I forgot” thing is just an excuse. You remember to wear clothes the rest of the time and you remembered to bring your dance shoes, so… Present yourself professionally and come (and leave) looking tidy (without mud spatters up the back of your tights and Goldfish cracker crumbs adhered to your leotard) and ready to dance.

    And I’m not meaning to pick on the kids here… this isn’t something that they intuitively know. They need to be taught. And judging from the numbers of them that leave thus clothed, no one seems interested in giving that particular lesson.

    • kiwiktn says:

      I did have the feeling afterwards that maybe I didn’t express myself properly 😉
      You make some valid points (and like I said, that I totally agree with) – the first comment cracked opened another can of worms that I felt you could handle having fully opened. Not that it in any way relates to your ballet blog! (heehee)

      BTW as a woman working in a male industry, I’ve also had this “appropriate/respectful dress” discussion with female co-workers. Just because you CAN come to work in open-toed sandals and strappy tops doesn’t mean you should – and that has nothing to do with the males. I just think that, depending on your job and the industry you’re in, it’s not only more appropriate to dress more professionally, and if it’s your aim, you can appear MORE sexy than by exposing so much.

      Back to the kids.
      It is a respect thing. Or appropriateness, like wearing shoes. Or not wearing knickers as a hat 😉

      • roriroars says:

        I don’t mind you cracking open that can of worms at all, and in fact your comment pretty much said what I was thinking when I read the initial response, but hadn’t yet figured out how to say it.

        Funny that you mention work dress, because I was thinking of that. Dance classes are fun and all, but they’re also part of the way kids practice how to get along in the world that lies ahead. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with teaching them that they can have fun AND be good ambassadors for their studios/schools/employers, etc.

        Oh, and your “knickers as a hat” comment totally made me snort. 🙂

  4. “where are your pants?” “I dunno”
    Hahaaaa!
    Seems like knowledge of where one’s pants are is a life skill that kids might as well go ahead and learn early.

    • roriroars says:

      You would think so.
      “It’s 10 o’clock. Do you know where your pants are?”
      Maybe I should make a Schoolhouse Rock video about it.

      • kiwiktn says:

        Seriously, you two?! you make me consider possibilities to the absence of pants that I have never before (had to) think about

Leave a Reply

