Has anyone seen May?

Forgive me for my slacker-tastic blogging lately. May was a whirlwind of a month. Started off with my last day at Wretched Job. Then there were 12 days of FUNemployment. Or rather, what was supposed to be FUNemployment, but ended up with me largely whiny and miserable. I’d been brewing some sort of virus for a few days before I ended my job, which all in all was a pretty minor inconvenience (sore throat, mostly, largely ignorable during most hours of the day). Until it developed into conjunctivitis. Ewwwww!!!

This was my first bout with that nastiness. I always wondered what the fuss was about. I mean, so what, your eye gets a little red and goopy, who gives a darn? I’ve had allergies as long as I can remember, so I’m used to itchy, red eyes. Oh, but this was so much worse. My eyes didn’t itch… they HURT! I spent two days holding ice cubes wrapped in paper toweling up to my eyes, alternating with warm, wet cotton balls. I got up multiple times in the night to unglue my eyelids from themselves. I couldn’t even enjoy television or the internet or a book or the other normal sick-day activities. Luckily the nasty part was over in a couple days, but the redness persisted for a bit beyond that. I looked like the spawn of satan with my glowing red eyes and thus refused to leave the house until I looked halfway normal again.

I recovered, but it took a great deal of the fun out of my time off. Reminded me of college breaks when I always seemed to develop some sort of illness. It’s like your body decides it can finally relax and give into whatever viruses are trying to attack. Forced rest, I suppose. Obviously I did not end up being nearly as productive as I’d hoped during my time off, but what is it they say? A horrible day on the golf course beats a good day at work? Being sick but knowing I didn’t have to go to that horrible job ever again… that was enough to make me happy!

Then, new job. I figured it had to be better than the last one. How could it not? I did not expect it to be this much better, though — the place and the people and the culture — it’s all just wonderful. I finally understand what people mean when they say they love their jobs. I always thought that was a bunch of hooey. Who loves their job? Really?

This girl. This girl loves her job. The people are nice and they, too, love (or at least like) their jobs. They smile and ask how you’re doing and genuinely seem to want to know the answer. They have staff meetings that are full of smiles and laughter. And they also do incredibly good work. It’s like job nirvana. So yeah.

The only hard part has been the commute. I knew this going in and honestly, most days I don’t even mind it. It’s good thinking/reading/napping/people-watching time. I like being able to take that time without feeling guilty that I should be doing something productive. The days I DO mind the commute? Are the days that I have dance class. I leave work 2 and 1/2 hours before class starts and still get there late between train delays, traffic, etc. Argh. This for the girl who has been known to be snippy about people being chronically late for barre.

The worst part about the rush to class is that we’ve been thick in preparations for the recital, so missing class isn’t really an option. Unlike the ballets where rehearsal is outside of class time, the recital pieces are rehearsed in class, so you really can’t skip if you want to have a prayer of knowing what’s going on. Next week at least I won’t have that hanging over my head anymore!

All in all, May was a very happy month, but feels like it flew by in the blink of an eye. Hopefully with  June’s commencement things will start to settle into some sort of routine.

One thought on “Has anyone seen May?

  1. Reece says:

    Think of the opportunities you missed while you looked like the Spawn of Satan. Think of the intimidation factor! You could probably have gotten awesome customer service.

    I see June on the calendar and not only wonder what happened to May, but April seems to have gone AWOL as well. Maybe there is something to the Rip van Winkle story after all.

Leave a Reply

