Attention whore

Third class with new ballet teacher this week.

After that first class filled with trepidation I find myself really looking forward to her class(es)… I mean, I always look forward to class, but hers especially. I think I have a teacher crush.

See, I think I might be, as the title states, an attention whore. Okay, not really. But I love… lovelovelove (bust out the “less-than-threes” here folks) the corrections. I feel weird saying that, but I know the ballet people understand. In most situations people avoid being corrected because it means they did something wrong and they’re now being called out on it… in public, no less! In ballet, the doing-something-wrong is a given. And unless you’re just using class as a social outlet, most of us in class want to improve. To find out those tidbits will take us from “meh” to “passable” to, hopefully, one day, “good” and, if all the stars align, “lovely.”

So, as weird as it is when teacher is standing next to you during an exercise and you know she’s just waiting to fix something and you are anxious waiting to find out what exactly the problem is, once you get the correction you can keep working on it. Already I’ve found myself giving so much more thought to different parts of my body. In balances I’m no longer just focusing on my core, but thinking about the hamstrings and turnout muscles in my leg, et voila, balances are better! In pirouettes I’m thinking about spiraling upwards from a firm plié instead of winding up in my torso. It’s a constant work in progress, but feels so much better when you know what to work on rather than taking stabs in the dark which sometimes work, sometimes not… or worse, just keep doing things poorly because you have either A) no idea that it’s wrong or B) know it’s wrong but have no idea how to fix it.

I don’t mean any of this to put other teacher down. She has a different style and I learn a lot from her, too. But I’m finding that the bites the new teacher spoon-feeds me/us in class I can then focus on in my other classes during the week and thus get more out of those classes. A win-win, I believe that’s called 😉 I firmly believe that it’s a good thing to learn from multiple teachers with different styles. You never know what image or correction may stick and make a major transformation in your dancing.

So I’m going to keep going to her class, getting all giddy when she comes over to offer me some advice. Because, well, as long as you’re getting corrections, the teacher must still believe there is hope for you yet!

Leave a Reply

