Party in da park!

Finally got to have my little soirée in the park for the ballet class I teach! Was unfortunately unable to find a date that worked for everyone (the initial date — which worked for everyone — was cold, rainy, and miserable, had to postpone). But 3 out of the 4 were there (there were more people that dropped in and out of my class, but I just invited the regulars to the party… rewarding commitment and all).

It was a warm, sunny day, so we found a shady area wedged between the lake and the road (peaceful on one side, motorcycles on the other!) away from the Little League games and I gave a 45-minute stretch & strengthen class. It was a kinda half-assed, hodge-podge of exercises gleaned from the pointe book I’ve been working from, yoga workouts I’ve done, Pilates classes I’ve taken, and some good ol’ gym class classics. But they seemed to enjoy it! One offered to pay me to make her do all that stuff on a regular basis… she also suggested we make this workout in the park thing a regular occurrence and offered to bring the wine. I reminded her that there was minor in the group and, the park being a public place, wine may be frowned upon by local law enforcement officials. She seemed unswayed. Ha…

After our class we trekked back to a picnic table and I brought out the goodies: sparkling French berry lemonade (thanks Trader Joe for classing up our party!), edamame hummus with multigrain pita chips, veggies, dip, cheese, crackers, apple-berry salsa with cinnamon-sugar pita chips, and Oreo “truffles” (actually, they were Joe Joe’s, not Oreos… I think I shoulda stuck with Oreos, they didn’t seem to work quite as well). I had planned a larger spread, but luckily got realistic about both my time constraints and the fact that it was a very small party. Ah well.

And… the gifts. I finally decided on gifts! Everyone got a little note from me and a Foot Rubz ball. One got a copy of The Ballet Companion by Eliza Gaynor Minden, one of my all-time favorite ballet books. This was for my youngest student who is a sponge for anything dance-related. I figured this would be a nice addition to her personal library. Another got a pair of ballet slippers. She’d always meant to get them, but couldn’t justify the expense with everything else she was dealing with. A pair of funky polka-dot legwarmers went to another student, who immediately put them on and then said, gee, it’s hot out! Ha. The missing student will be getting some armwarmers whenever I can get them to her!

They all seemed pleased with their gifts and the party. I enjoyed getting us together so that we didn’t totally forget about the wonders of ballet! All in all, a good cap on my first run of teaching. Looking forward to getting back to it, though I need to figure out the summer as I’m booked to teach for only 45 minutes and at a time when I’m still at work. The teenager suggested I Skype the class from my office. Haha… like I’d let them off that easily!

2 thoughts on “Party in da park!

  1. Jeff says:

    Oh, how fun! What a cool teacher you are. 🙂 By the way, I’m slowly building up a ballet reference collection and will definitely check out that book. I’ve seen it recommended by several people.

    • roriroars says:

      It’s a great general reference and I love the fact that it’s neither kid-centric, nor female-centric. Plus, the photos are beautiful and it has a ribbon bookmark, which I suppose is a strange thing to get excited over, but it thrilled me!

Leave a Reply

