Round and round we go

Had the first ballet class in over a week last night. Between travel, another show, and simple laziness I managed to skip a total of 4 classes. Oops. So back to adult ballet I last night. Didn’t feel too off. In fact some of the balances at the barre were some of the better ones I’ve done recently. Was feeling very centered.

Then came the across-the-floor stuff. We were doing a simple pirouette combination: tombé, pas de bourrée, pirouette en dehors, grand battement en cloche (sort of) closing back in 4th, pirouette en dehors, etc. Simple, but different. So there we were making our way across the floor. I hear the teacher yell at me about spotting and frame. As I make my way back to the end of the line she says to me, “Well, now that you’ve got spotting down, you are done with singles. Only doubles from now on.”

Dang. So much for the easy way out. It’s not that I never attempt doubles (I was actually attempting a double while I was getting the corrections), but I tend to go for singles a lot. I know that I can manage a single pirouette that will look relatively clean and neat. Doubles may or may not come out the same way! Of course… how can you ever get a clean and neat double if you don’t practice it at every opportunity? How can you ever get a clean and neat triple if you don’t have confidence with doubles? And I want to get better, riiiiight??? I do. But sometimes that perfectionism gets in the way. I don’t want it to look sloppy so I aim low.

No more.

Doubles from here on out. Maybe triples. Look out world. I’m gonna be a whirling dervish before long!

2 thoughts on “Round and round we go

  1. pointetilyoudrop says:

    I totally support you in your double pirouette endeavor!
    In my Friday class our teacher often gives a slow adagio pirouette. She really tells us to do just one perfect balance, turning once only. Slow enough to give the audience a full view of every beautiful (we hope) angle.. After that we do the pirouettes, aka multiple turns in balance.

    My other teacher never lets me do singles, even if Iยดm feeling off my game. If I mess up, fall down or tilt sideways, she just corrects me and tells me to do it again. And again, well you get the idea ๐Ÿ˜‰ Pirouettes only come from practicing. Forget perfect, throwing yourself into the challenge is half the fun!

    Deep plie, breath, push into floor and turn, baby, turn! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • roriroars says:

      The funny thing is, I remember once in my company class (non-ballet class) we were doing our regular warm-up routine which has pirouettes in it and I was kind of half-assing it that day on the doubles. Didn’t put in all the oomph and wind-up that I usually do. And, wouldn’t you know it, I sailed around neatly, centered, good position, etc. I remember thinking to myself, Gee, has my problem all this time been the fact that I overthink my pirouettes? That I make it a much bigger deal in my head than it really is? Hmmm… something to think about. Or, uh, to NOT think about! Haha!

Leave a Reply

