Feels like the first time

Oh, yes… that’s because it was.

First class as a teacher, that is! We had our intro to basic-elementary-very-beginner ballet 101. Or maybe I should call it, “everything you wanted to know about ballet but were afraid to ask.” It went well overall!

My biggest fear was that people would be bored with my plan to start super-slow. After my blah-blah part (which I cut way down from the dissertation I had composed in my head) I went over posture/alignment, turnout, demi-plié, battement tendu from first, and some basic port de bras (oh, and révérence). That took up the whole time! But a couple of my students/friends came up to me after and said that this is what they really needed and were hoping for! Most of my students have no ballet experience or it was ages ago in a combo class (i.e. the once-a-week tap/jazz/ballet in an hour dealio). One of my students did do ballet as a kid and took it more recently a couple years ago. I hope she wasn’t bored! But I’m happy to have her in class as a student that others can follow!

Lots to work on, but overall I was really impressed with how hard everyone worked and how quickly they picked up on things. I see some great potential! The two youngest students will be my biggest challenge. I think there’s just a kinesthetic knowledge that they haven’t reached yet. I would give them corrections verbally, physically, and they just looked at me like I was an alien from another planet. Ah well, I’m up for the challenge! Haha. I’m pretty sure they all have a new respect for the boring plié now!

So, I had a lot of fun. Can’t wait for next week’s class!

“And it feels like the first time
Like it never did before
Feels like the first time
Like we’ve opened up the door.”

Leave a Reply

