Yo-yo-ing

So I was on nights, and then just like that, I was back on days again. But it’s all good news.

First of all, I really enjoyed the nights far more than I ever thought I would. The tone of nights is so much more relaxed than days. Not to mention that by coming in at 7pm I was able to get the bulk of my work done in the first four hours, then spent the rest of my shift putting out whatever fires came up. It was nice because I generally felt like I had plenty of time to spend with my patients. It felt good to be on my own and I think the three weeks I did nights did a lot for my comfort level with providing postpartum care.

Then I found out that the staffing issues on nights weren’t going to last after all and my manager felt comfortable moving me on to labor & delivery. I am very excited to take this turn in my orientation since L&D is what really excites me about maternity nursing (that and sick babies, but I am not sure if I’ll get to orient to our level II nursery or not). Today was my second day on L&D, although my first day didn’t really count since I went home sick. Don’t know what was up with that. I started feeling woozy in the OR (I’ve seen lots of c-sections, so I can’t imagine it had anything to do with that). I felt better after a bit, but then started feeling gross again a short time later. I came home and slept a lot. Feeling mostly good today. No labor, but my preceptor and I had an antepartum patient and helped out in the triage room, so I got to practice Leopold’s and tried (unsuccessfully) to start an IV. It was a good day, even if I didn’t get to see labor. To top it off, despite the fact that I really don’t need any more scrubs, I found a set of corduroy scrubs at our hospital’s uniform sale today. Cute!

School is still going. I got invited into Sigma Theta Tau, so that was exciting. I have a feeling all the grad students are inducted, but still, it’s nice to actually have an academic honor to my name. I think I should have final IRB approval for my project tomorrow hopefully, so then I can finally start making some serious progress on my project. I cannot wait to be done. Have I mentioned that already?

Leave a Reply

