Pennies from heaven

I am not a religious person. And on the rare occasions I do send up a prayer to the big grandpappy in the sky I’ll admit that it is usually for something selfish. But there are times where I do have to give a big thank you to whoever or whatever is looking out for me, specifically whatever spiritual treasurer sends money my way just when I need it most.

I remember right after I bought my home a few years ago sitting on the floor of the living room and wondering what on earth I had gotten myself into, thinking I was going to break a world record for least amount of time from closing to foreclosure, and wracking my brain to figure out how I was going to get through that month. I went down to check the mail and found a check from the mortgage company, a refund for financing through them or something… I don’t even remember. But it got me through that month and I was able to get on my feet (I haven’t been foreclosed on yet!).

Over this past winter break I was wondering how I was going to scrape the mortgage payment together on time since my semester loan refund wasn’t coming to me until a week or two after the due date. A friend of my mom happened to call her to see if she wanted some extra hours at her company while they were doing inventory. She passed along the offer to me and I was able to make it.

Now… I finally have a real job lined up, but I can’t start until after I have my RN and I don’t know when I will actually sit for the NCLEX (it’s pretty much out of my hands, a hurry up and wait situation). On top of that I have a two-credit course this summer that I have to take, but since it’s less than part-time we aren’t eligible to get financial aid to cover it. I’ve been keeping those “checks” that the credit card companies mail out, but I really don’t want to resort to using them… the balance is already too high as it is. Yesterday my preceptor called to ask if I would be interested in picking up some per diem work in the department I’d been doing my clinical in until I have my RN license and can start my real job. I don’t know how many hours I’ll get or what the pay rate is, but I’ll take whatever I can get! And I just got an e-mail letting me know that a loan I had applied for to cover the summer course got approved and it looks like I’ll even have a little extra left over after the tuition and fees to help me get through the next month or so. On top of that I got a check for my earned income tax credit which I didn’t even know I was eligible for when I filed my taxes (the IRS actually informed me… who says they’re a bunch of meanies?!) and I think I might even get a little from the stimulus package, whenever that comes my way.

I don’t know how I’ve been able to get so lucky, but I hope that one day I can be one of those people who commits random acts of kindness by leaving anonymous donations for people I know need it. Somehow I’m going to repay the karma!

2 thoughts on “Pennies from heaven

  1. Kathleen says:

    Hey there. I came across your blog because I was searching for other people out there who are taking the NCLEX soon, like I am. So just wanted introduce myself! Also, I read your post about how awful scrubs are…have you tried the Urbane brand? I think they’re pretty cute.

  2. […] things have come through to get me through that patch and on to the next part of my life (see Pennies from heaven). I have developed a theory based on this phenomenon: put forth the effort, the universe will […]

Leave a Reply

