Getting closer

One class is done! Yippee! And I don’t have to write any more reflective journals this semester! Double yippee!! And I have this week off! Triple yippee!!!

The health systems & leadership class ended Saturday. That was the class that took place over four all-day Saturday affairs. It’s always a long day, but the last one was exceptionally long since we each had to do a 15-minute presentation on a subject of our choice. In general they were good and I actually learned a lot, but still, 23 presentations is a lot to sit through at once. I think mine went fairly well, though. I got quite a few positive comments on my patient satisfaction topic… granted they were from my friends, but it was still nice to hear. And I decided to use the day as an excuse to wear my cute new suit.

We have come such a long way. I was remembering back to the stress I was feeling last year at this time. I didn’t know what the point of half of our classes was and I had all these projects and tests to finish up. I was so overwhelmed. Now I’m actually feeling ready. I’m ready to move on into my first job as an RN (nervous as hell, but ready) and I’m ready to move on into the last few classes and do my final leadership project. I’m finally seeing the point of going the route that I went to become a nurse. I’m finally buying into this whole clinical nurse leader thing and understanding why we get a master’s degree out of all of this. As I look forward into my career I can see so many options. It’s such a liberating feeling after my old career where I constantly felt that I wasn’t living up to my potential and yet I didn’t care enough to even try.

I will be very sad to leave my clinical, even though I’ll be staying at the same hospital. The entire department has been terrific and really made me feel like a part of the group rather than “just a student.” They took me out for dinner on Thursday and got me a card and a subscription to the Journal of Obstetrical, Gynecological, and Neonatal Nursing, which I’m excited about. My first professional journal subscription! My preceptor is out for most of this week and part of next, so I’m taking some vacation time for myself. I did finish reading the pharmacology study book that I was supposed to finish last week so I’m just waiting for word from my virtual instructor about what I need to do next.

Pretty much all I have left for the semester academically is class next Monday. The morning class should be easy enough, just a wrap-up of the semester. I’m done writing reflective journals, thank goodness. I used to like those things, but they just get more and more arduous as time goes on. Then our last epidemiology/decision-making class is that afternoon. We have a take-home test for that class and I think we have to write a short paper stating what we did to meet the goals of the class or something. This is so much less stressful that then end of the other semesters! I like it!

2 thoughts on “Getting closer

  1. Caroline says:

    Amen to that, sistah!

    I totally second your thoughts about being ready (but nervous.) Man, we are SO different from when we were first started school, huh!

    We’ve come a long way, baby. Lookin’ forward to reading all about your new gig!

  2. Markie says:

    Rori,

    Nice stumbling over your blog. I just recently graduated from a CNL program in the CA bay area, and am enjoying the employed life.

    Congrats on your progress!

Leave a Reply

