An ode to crumb-crunchers

I should totally be studying for my peds exam right now, but it’s been a long day and I’m exhausted. I did want to post about my day though, cause it was awfully fun. My peds prof is a school nurse at an elementary school and I had a one-on-one day with her. I had such a ball… not like I was expecting to hate it or anything, I figured it would be interesting, but I always kinda thought, school nursing, eh.

I got there feeling kinda unsure of myself, kinda sat there and stared. But I went and hung out with the special needs nurse for a bit and helped her with some kindergarten vision and hearing screenings. I did two on my own. The first kid was kinda quiet, but the second one was showing me his new teeth and wiggling a loose one for me and telling me about how he can ride a bike without training wheels and can even do wheelies on it! Nurse Rori (they called me that!) immediately said, “Do you wear a helmet when you ride your bike?” I don’t even know where that came from, it was a knee-jerk response. It’s, of course, the appropriate thing to ask, I was just impressed that I actually said it instead of something like, “Um, that’s cool…” So they were fun. Then I got to meet a little boy who’s part of their preschool program for kids with special needs and observed his speech therapy. After that I went back to the nurse’s office and assessed some of the kids that rolled through. Gosh, they are darned funny. The personalities of some of them! One kid came in with a stinging med patch… he was able to tell me what he was on, why, and helped me look it up in a drug book! Another kid with some chronic issues came in and my prof asked him if it was okay for me to administer his med. His response, “I’m happy to help anyone going into the medical field.” Oh my gosh, that kid was an absolute hoot. We were joking with him about how he’s got a future in medicine and he asked us what field we thought he would go into. I don’t remember what we said, but his response was, “I’m thinking cardiothoracic.” My eyes just about popped out of my head.

My nurse and I also watched a video about allergies in school since she was going to be doing some teacher education about the subject. It was cool to see some of the more administrative parts of school nursing. For any of you who think that it’s handing out band-aids and cold packs… well, it is a fair amount of that, but it’s so much more. There’s a lot of education and a lot of figuring out “the rest of the story” a la Paul Harvey. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

