Upside down

Boy, you turn me
Inside out
And round and round

A little Diana Ross for you. She sums it up nicely. There are times when I just can’t figure out if I’m coming or going. This week has been one of those times. I felt like I had a ton of stuff to do at the beginning of the week. I still have stuff I need to do now, but it’s not the rush rush rush of the first half of the week. On top of that my schedule changed this week. I don’t have my Thursday clinical anymore, so today is a day off. But tomorrow night (a Friday night!) I have to go to orientation for peds from 3:30-9:00. The things we do. Oh well, that rotation should be interesting. We’ll be spending some time in the hospital (4-5 times) but we’ll also spend a week with VNA (cause we all know I can’t get enough of that) and two weeks in the schools. I’m not quite sure how it will all work out yet, but sounds interesting.

Community health was actually pretty good this week. I got to spend the day with the young family division and I enjoyed that. Went on a total of three visits, one prenatal, one new baby/mom, and one 3-year-old/grandma. I guess that department is constantly in the red. They lose money right and left, in large part because they provide a lot of services despite the fact that insurance will rarely reimburse them. I think it stinks that insurance is so restrictive on new baby visits. You have to get there w/in 48 hours of discharge to get reimbursed, and that’s if the insurer reimburses at all (this organization will go whenever and just take the hit if it’s not reimbursed, though). I think this is a really valuable service that should be offered to ALL moms/babies. There’s just so much to learn and take in with a new baby and the hospital nurses can’t do it all, nor can the parents remember it all. Oh well. There are some fabulous programs that the organization has gotten grants for, like working with low-income moms from pre-natal until their child is 3 years old. It’s partnered with Early Head Start. That was what our prenatal visit was part of. And I think some of these visits they just do out of the goodness of their hearts and chalk it up to charity work. It’s a lot more psychosocial work and education than real physical assessment, but I actually enjoyed that. I wish I could spend the rest of the semester working with them. It was pretty cool.

Time to study for a pediatrics test and read some pathophys (fell asleep reading it this morning and started having really weird dreams!).

Leave a Reply

