The first week of semester 3

Okay, this is like the 10th time I’ve tried to write this post. I seem to be having trouble motivating. Or maybe just wrapping my head around the current nursing school experience.

So, obviously, break has come to an end and we’re back to school. And it feels good to be back on the move towards the ultimate goals of taking the NCLEX and earning the sheepskin. But the attitude problems within my class remain and I’m having a hard time dealing with it. There seem to be some fundamental value differences among different factions of my class and ultimately I’m disappointed that the cohesiveness that I, perhaps naively, expected when I started this program is not only elusive, but at this point highly unlikely. It has come to a point where I’ve decided I just need to keep my head down and keep plugging away. Yet this is the nursing profession where collaboration is key! It’s frustrating. At times I wonder how many people in my class actually thought through this whole nursing thing before applying.

Anyway, we’ve started three of our classes. The physiology class will start next week, I believe. That’s the one with the last-minute professor change. So I’m enjoying the slower pace for the moment. Public health will be interesting, I think. I’m looking forward to the clinical component, which starts tomorrow. I ended up being able to get a clinical placement up in my old hometown area, which I’m very excited about. This clinical will be different because we’ll each be paired up with a nurse in the field instead of being on a floor with six or seven other students and a clinical instructor. I’m not sure exactly what area I’ll be working in. The organization I’m working with does med-surg care, hospice, and young family care in the home setting. I’d be happy to get experience in any one of those areas, so I didn’t request anything in particular. The lecture component sounds like it will be a lot of discussion and writing exercises. I don’t think that public health is my burning area of interest, but it should be a good experience.

We’ve also got maternity and peds. I’m very excited about this class. For the first half of the semester I’ll be doing my maternal/newborn rotation at the same hospital where I did my first clinical rotation. I’m sad that it’s such a short amount of time and I’m not sure how much we’ll all get to see, but I’ll take whatever I can get. This week we’ll be in the bed area at school, though. Apparently the school got some new simulation mannequins over the summer, including an OB one, so we’ll get to play with those. Halfway through the semester I’ll switch to a peds rotation down south of the state border (luckily it will be Friday eves/Saturdays for those, so I won’t have to deal with the commuter traffic!). Apparently there may also be some community rotations to that as well, though I’m not sure whether that’s an either/or or if we’ll get to do both.

Research has started up, too. I’m a bit apprehensive since I don’t have any research experience, but I’m just going to try to take it one step at a time and try to keep in mind that this may, possibly, have the potential to be fun if I can find a topic that interests me. Actually, I’m thinking of working on a proposal about the OB simulation mannequins since it would combine my maternal/peds interest with my education interest.

My “office” seems to be working out well. The desk is still a bit cluttered… I need to work on my organizational system, but I seem to be better about getting work done in here, though that may be because I often find myself trapped under one or both of the monsters. I suppose they have some value.

UPS just dropped off my maternity text, time to go catch up on my reading!

One thought on “The first week of semester 3

  1. gina says:

    I’d love to read your blog but the font is too small. Not sure if I can change it to make it larger to read – thanks.

Leave a Reply

