Can it be?

I made it through. Like, I really, really made it through first semester. Okay, the grades aren’t in the books yet, but… it’s out of my hands now. I took my last pathophys/pharm test Saturday morning (58 out of 60, woot!). It feels extremely odd to not be procrastinating schoolwork right now.

So, what do I have planned for my two weeks off? Well, the condo is in major need of cleaning/organizing. I scrubbed one of the bathrooms so far. It’s such a pain, but it feels so good to have it done, sparkling chrome and toothpaste spatter-free mirror. So, there’s the requisite dusting, mopping, vacuuming, throwing out… I’m also hoping to get the spare room organized into a good working space for school. I’ve found myself having an extremely hard time getting motivated to study at home, so I’m hoping designated study space will help. I’d also like to get the porch decorated. Every summer I think about getting some plants out there to liven it up some, but I never get around to it. So that would be nice… it could be my secondary study space, if I got a table and some more comfortable chairs.

Other than that, I need to get my criminal background form sent to the state police so I can start my LNA licensing process. I’m hoping to go visit a couple friends of mine who had a baby a couple months ago. And I have a dentist appointment down in Boston (never got around to getting a new dentist), so I think I might go down there for that day and play tourist for a while, maybe stop in at the old office to say hello. I got a couple books out of the library the other day for some fun reading.

Speaking of books, I’ve been spending a fair amount of time on Amazon acquiring books for the summer. I also lugged a stack of books over to my parents’ so that my dad could list them on half.com. I wasn’t expecting to rid myself of that many books, but when you use some of them to read, oh, one chapter, it kinda becomes an expensive doorstop. Or when you have two fundamentals books, I mean, fundamentals are fundamentals, right? Don’t need one for each eye. Not to mention that one of them was like a nursing manual, which is all well and good, except for the fact that you’re not likely to whip it out and plop it next to the patient when it comes time to do a procedure (“Don’t worry, Mr. Brown, I swear I’ve done this hundreds of times before. Let’s see, step one, wash hands; rationale: prevent the spread of infection. Step two…”).

That’s about it for now… I’m going to try to relax and enjoy as much as I can, get some yoga in, take some walks, take some pictures, maybe try out some recipes. But (shh) I’m excited to get back to school and continue this slow but steady climb towards my new career.

Leave a Reply

