Spring has sprung…

…in typical New England fashion. Friday morning there was frost on my car as I left for clinical… by the afternoon we were sitting outside in shirtsleeves roasting.

Two more weeks left of this semester. I have so much to get done in that span of time, but it’s nice to know that the end is near! This past week went okay. I have a group project for one of my classes and we were able to work on our presentation a bit. I volunteered to write the paper for the group… well, everyone will contribute, but I’ll do the final write-up so that the paper is in one voice rather than four. I must admit that my actual reason for volunteering to write this paper is a bit control-freakish. But I’m guessing my group-mates won’t complain regardless of my reasoning. Of course I may be regretting that next weekend with everything I have to do for my pathophys/pharm class and the older adult class.

We had a guest speaker in my least favorite class this week… man, I wish she taught the class every week. Or at least that she had come to talk earlier in the semester. She was incredibly dynamic and made the information that our professor has been trying to get across all semester long clear and relevant. Up until this point all the exercises we’ve had to do for that class have seemed more like pointless busywork intended to frustrate the hell out of us. This woman was able to give us a real world application for the exercises and make it seem interesting and educational and maybe even fun. I’m really wishing I had more time to work on my final project for that class now.

Clinical was okay. I had the same patient two days in a row. Um, let me just say that I do not anticipate a future in psychiatric nursing. He was a “frequent flyer” and his history was rather… extensive. Which isn’t to say that I don’t feel bad for his situation. I do find it very sad that he’s apparently fallen through the cracks and doesn’t have much, if anything, to show for his life thus far. But I’m also realistic enough to know that there’s not much any of us can do to improve the situation. And it’s tough to be the student. The first day I had him wasn’t too bad. For one, I wasn’t giving meds that day, so his nurse was more involved. And he went down to the OR for a procedure, so he was unconscious and off the floor for half the day (I actually went to observe the procedure, but as I stated, he was unconscious for most of it). The second day… well, for one I couldn’t figure out why they weren’t springing him out of the joint. His tests hadn’t shown anything and I didn’t see any further interventions scheduled. He spent the day whining and complaining and acting up and seemed to think that I was there to wait on him hand and foot. I may look young, buddy, but I sure as hell wasn’t born yesterday. Argh. It was a crazy day for all of us, though. Our instructor felt a code in the air (which thankfully didn’t occur, at least not while we were there!), and every one of us was run ragged and begging for the day to be over already.

Just got an e-mail from one of my professors about licensing. After this semester (successful completion of our clinical course) we’re eligible to get our nursing assistant license, no state testing required. I’m definitely planning to do that. I’ve seen a few per diem LNA jobs posted at the local hospitals that might work well with my schedule. We can also take the LPN boards after fall semester, although I doubt I’ll bother with that. We’d only have about six months before being eligible to sit for the RN boards and we’ll be doing our immersion experience (plus two other classes) during that spring, so I don’t expect I’ll have any time to work as an LPN. I’m not sure how much it costs to take the LPN boards, either. If it’s cheap, maybe I’d do it, just for the NCLEX testing experience, but I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Okay, I should really stop procrastinating and go back to working on my poster for Least Favorite Class. I did manage to get some work done on it this morning at Panera, but two diagrams does not a poster make… bummer. Actually I think I’ll go run to Target as one of my neighbors’ dog has been barking non-stop for the past half hour and I’m sick of listening to it.

Leave a Reply

