The final month

We’re entering the home stretch ladies and gentlemen! It’s spring! And it’s… snowing like hell. Ah well, that’s New England for you. Despite what the weather implies, there is less than a month left to this semester and I, for one (though I think I speak for all 23 of us), am ready. Of course being done with this semester means we get to start another one shortly thereafter (I believe we get two weeks off between). But it signals progress. When I quit my job I wondered how the heck I was going to do this. But now… May 2008 doesn’t seem too far away in the grand scheme of things (I’ll still be in school, but I should be gainfully employed again!). To have five classes and 19 credits completed and done, hey that’s not too shabby! But, um, I guess I shouldn’t count my chickens before they hatch. I still have two tests, two papers, a group project, and two posters to tackle before it’s all said and done.

This weekend about half of my classmates and I got together for our first class party. There’s nothing we’ve faced that a few margarita Jello shots (courtesy of moi) can’t cure. Heh heh. Actually it was just nice to hang out with people outside of campus and the hospital setting.

In other news… I guess I’m officially getting nursely. I bought a pair of Danskos for everyday use, too (why yes, as a matter of fact I AM financing my footwear with student loans, why do you ask?) . After feeling what the white ones did for my back and feet at clinicals I can see why so many of my instructors and classmates wear them on a regular basis. And anyway I beat up regular non-sneaker shoes like nobody’s business and these puppies are built like tanks, so I’m hoping that a little outlay now means that I’ll be shod for a good long time.

Okay, time for a nap in front of the fire, I think. Then off to do some more reading. Maybe get a little ahead on some work… naahh, why ruin the fun of working in a panicked frenzy?

Leave a Reply

