Ten more work days!

Time’s ticking down here. I scheduled my exit interview today for two weeks from now. Eep. Word seems to be getting out, too. Someone stopped by my desk today to ask about some tax payments and said that she heard I was leaving and going back to school. I got the impression that she thought I was going to business school and I didn’t bother to correct her. It’s hard to know what to tell my coworkers sometimes. Between making such a huge career change and taking a fairly unusual path to get there a lot of questions get raised and I hate feeling like I’ve been put on the defensive. No, I’m not going to be a professional butt-wiper, though I’m sure I’ll do my fair share of it. No, I’m not going to wear a funny hat, nor will I dress like that hot chick you saw at the Hallowe’en party. And yes, it’s possible to go to graduate school for nursing without already being a nurse and to be honest it is neither the cheap nor the easy way of doing it, so stop looking at me suspiciously. Some may call imparting such information advocacy, but to me it sounds like I’m trying to justify my choices and it doesn’t seem to be worth the increase in blood pressure to do so. Meh.

Anyway, I’m happy to report that I was able to get some down time in this holiday season, which was especially welcome since I’m not taking any time between finishing work and starting school. We headed up to Sunday River in ME after work last Wednesday and stayed for two days of skiing and hot-tubbing. I got in a couple lessons and was psyched the second day when I showed up for the green (beginner) group clinic and my instructor from the day before told me I should try the blue (intermediate) group. I was hoping to get to blue by the end of the season, so I was thrilled to get there on the second day of this year. Of course my record of staying on both skis throughout day one was shattered within about five minutes on a blue slope and I’m still a little banged up, but it’s progress. And I can say that I fell off a ski lift, so I can cross that off my list of things to do in my lifetime (and no, it wasn’t my fault… it was one of those moments where I could see the whole train-wreck starting and there wasn’t a thing I could do about it other than swear a blue streak under my breath and glare at those responsible). It was a great break from real life, though. I can see why the guy enjoys it so much.

In other nursing school stuff I got a call yesterday that my uniforms are ready. I also got my parking permit in the mail. Both of those things came through much faster than I expected, so I was happy about that. I copied my one last piece of documentation for the immunization sheet and mailed that in today. I think everything else I need to take care of will happen next Friday when I’m on campus for the CPR class. I should be able to get my ID then and pick up the stuff I ordered from the SNO. Whee, toys! Still need to look for one last (expensive) toy… a laptop. I did get an e-mail at work today about ordering stuff through one of our suppliers. The price looks comparable to what I’ve seen in BestBuy and I know they’re the same laptops they use here (Lenovo, formerly IBM). Hmm…

Leave a Reply

