ASDP – The lead-up

The Boston Ballet School Adult Summer Dance Program (hereafter referred to as “BBS-ASDP” or just “ASDP” or, hell, just “it”) is here!

And not without a whoooooole lot of trepidation on my part. I didn’t know where I was going, what I should plan for, whether I’d be in over my head or bored.

Let’s go in reverse order there… Levels: on the website they list four different levels one could register for — Beginner, Elementary, Intermediate, and Advanced. Beginner and Elementary sounded too basic. And Advanced sounded like it was essentially pre-pro/former-pro which I am so not! Therefore Intermediate seemed to be my slot.

But a couple weeks after registering I went to a random adult open class in Cambridge with a friend of mine. She saw some people she knew from when she had done ASDP a few years ago and was asking them if they were doing it and this whole discussion about levels came up with one person saying that she had always enrolled in the Advanced level, but since the description this year sounded like it wouldn’t be appropriate (see the “pre-pro/former-pro” thing above) she e-mailed the school to ask whether she should still enroll in that section and they said, sure, it would be appropriate for a student who had taken ballet for a long time. I mentioned that I had signed up for Intermediate and the woman was all, “Oh, you’d totally be fine in Advanced.” I didn’t know what to do about that, if anything.

Then, as for what I should plan for… well, there’s a brief “what to expect when you’re ASDPing” on the website, but it’s a bit loosey-goosey, like, “Oh, you know, some ballet technique and rep, and sometimes some Pilates, and some modern, and some lectures, maybe, and some other stuff, TBD!” Ooookay. I mean, that’s fine, I don’t need a minute-by-minute breakdown of the entire two weeks. But I expected some sort of, “Yay, rah-rah, BBS-ASDP is starting soon, welcome, here’s what you need to know” e-mail. I got nothing beyond the confirmation they sent right after I signed up in May. I actually e-mailed them last week to find out whether I was out of compliance on some element of registration and all I got back was a “Nope, you’re all set!” Now, I’m not terribly type A, but… sometimes a girl needs a little hand-holding. Just a smidge. Do I need to get there early, bring anything special, prepare an interpretive dance on the plight of three-toed sloths in the rainforests? Anything?

And then getting where I was going… ugh. ASDP is being held at one of the suburban studios instead of the main studio in Boston proper, but it’s a suburb that’s considered part of the Metro Boston area, so silly me thought, “Hey, the T goes there, no prob!” Their website was all, “Take this trolley branch (conveniently the branch that goes past my work) to this stop, then take the X bus to Y stop, et voila!” Cool. But further investigation showed that the bus one needs to catch is a leprechaun… good luck catching one! It comes mayyyyybe every 45 minutes. Not even. And promptly stops running altogether around 7:30pm. Did I mention the program runs until 9pm each night? And the suggestions for public transit to get back into Boston proper (where I needed to go to pick up my commuter bus) involved commuter rails or expensive bus routes that my T pass does not cover. But driving into the city is a royal PITA. What to do, what to dooooooo?!?!?!

Do you see why I was a teensy bit anxious about this?

But, hey, once you get past the first day most the uncertainty goes away and I can just enjoy. Sooo… on to ASDP!

(To avoid tl;dr syndrome, I’m saving the actual activities of day 1 for another post!)

3 thoughts on “ASDP – The lead-up

  1. Not terribly type A here either, but without a “See you soon, here’s what to pack for camp” email plus sketchy info on getting there and back involving multiple forms of transport, I’d be totally a teensy bit anxious too.

  2. […] posts from Rori Roars about The Boston Ballet School Adult Summer Dance Program. Start with this post and read on from […]

Leave a Reply

