Happy Early Birthday… to ME!

Eeeeeeeekkkkkk!!!!

I did it.

I just ordered my own birthday present.

Keep in mind that my birthday is three months away still.

But.

Yeah.

So…

Ever since I found out that there are summer intensive programs for non-kids I’ve been dying to do one.

Sun King is my dream program because, seriously, how cool is that? A week full of ballet, pointe, pilates, modern, repertoire, partnering, etc. Even in big metropolitan areas it’s hard to find that sort of training geared towards people outside the pre-pro crowd. But that doesn’t mean that we don’t want to be able to experience that stuff, at least once!

Well, I don’t think I can swing Sun King financially quite yet, but…

There’s this.

Which I’ve been thinking about for a while.

While I was at the Boston Opera House before “Jewels” this past weekend (post to come on that!) I spied a table of BBS brochures including one for the ASDP.

I picked one up and since then it’s been staring at me from my kitchen counter, challenging me to make a decision already. I knew that by procrastinating I was effectively making the decision of “no” and I wasn’t sure I’d be happy about that unless I had a well thought-out reason why I shouldn’t.

The reasons I put it off before don’t hold this year. Our ballet company isn’t doing a summer ballet, so I wouldn’t be missing any key rehearsals or performances. I wouldn’t have to take time off work since it’s a few miles down the road from my office and takes place in the evenings. And one of my friends did it in the past and said it was good, and supposedly they’ve revamped the program for this summer to be even better.

And… just… why not?

Are there more reasonable things to do with my money?

Probably.

Will this make for some rather long days during those two weeks?

I can only imagine.

But would I regret it if this turned out to be the one time I got to do this and talked myself out of it?

Hells, yeah.

So… if you’re looking for me some evening in the beginning of August, you can find me wrapping up this year of my life at BBS.

Once more I say:

Eeeeeeekkkkk!!!

3 thoughts on “Happy Early Birthday… to ME!

  1. Paulina says:

    That does sound great. I got a bonus payment at work this month and I decided to spend it on dance stuff. Yes, there are probably many more reasonable things to do with that money. The bigger part is going to be saved for my awesome teacher’s awsome workshop in January, but a lady sometimes wants new shoes/skirt/leotard…

  2. That looks Super Awesome.

Leave a Reply

