Party (Mom) of 5

Just got the news that I am going to be a mother!

I have tried to avoid this predicament, but it has found me anyway.

Yes, my friends, it is true… the cast was short a party mom and I have been roped in.

Noooooooo!!!!

It wasn’t supposed to happen like this!

Okay, okay, the hysterics are a smidge unwarranted here.

Last week the director asked, rather off-handedly, if I could be in the scene.. this was during class, right before I was supposed to do a combination across the floor.

I was all, “Tombé, pas de bourrée, WHAT?!”

And she was all, “Well, it’s not definite, we may have someone, but if not…”

So today I asked if I was needed and got a reply in the affirmative.

Fiddlesticks.

“You’ve done it before, right?” she asked.

Um… no. My avoidance methods have worked perfectly up until now!

“What?! Well, that settles it… you HAVE to be in it!”

So, what, is the party scene actually some sort of hazing ritual?

And here I thought Snow was the hazing ritual!

Hm… does this mean I have to get some less-sexy/non-T-strap character shoes or am I going to be That Mom?

Party scene actually has some potential for fun and — bonus — I get to wear a hoop skirt, which was a childhood dream of mine since I read the Little House books.

This does, however, take the chill, relaxed show I was expecting and ramps it up a notch. Party scene isn’t particularly tough, but it is long and from that I have to quickly transform into a snowflake and then go on to perform in two dances in the second act.

Four scenes?! Phew!

But… it should be fun! Would be more fun if there was real champagne in the glasses we toast with on stage, however…

First rehearsal is tomorrow. I’ll keep you posted!

4 thoughts on “Party (Mom) of 5

  1. Sandy says:

    OMG, thought for a moment you were adding another furbaby !

  2. Reece says:

    And I thought for a moment that this was the start of another BWP thread (ballet while pregnant).

    Congrats on the hoop skirt. Perhaps you should seek out a historical reenactor group and really live out some more of those childhood dreams. :-)

    • Rori roars says:

      Bwahaha… I’ll leave the BWP posts to others for the time being! Nut kids shall suffice!

      I was kind of bummed that PBS and BBC stopped doing those reality series they had on a few years back like Frontier House and Manor House. I totally would have signed up for one of those. Hoop skirts galore!

  3. thetravelingdancer says:

    Congrats that’s awesome!!! Are you doing Snow as well? Do you mind me asking who’s Nutcracker you’re performing for? :)

Leave a Reply

