New Year, New You Giveaway!!!!

Welcome to 2013, all! Hope you had fabulous celebrations, took time to count the blessings that came your way in 2012, and are looking forward to the adventures the new year will bring.

New post likely to come regarding my own dance plans for the year, but before I get into the mememememe, how about something for youyouyouyouyou!?

I’ve got a couple prizes for people looking to make some positive changes in the new year!

First up is a copy of The Pointe Book by Janice Barringer and Sarah Schlesinger. I just discovered a 3rd edition of this book was published recently and the one I’m giving away (alas!) is the 2nd edition, but while some of the info about specific pointe shoe brands/models is a bit dated, this book is still chock-full of great info for anyone hoping to be en pointe in the new year or beyond — history of pointe, anatomy of a shoe, care and keeping of shoes, injury prevention, and more!

The Pointe Book

Then we’ve got two DVDs from The Bar Method — Beginner’s Workout and Dancer’s Body Advanced Workout. If you’re not familiar with barre-based workouts, or the Bar Method in particular, it’s a form of exercise that focuses on isometric movements, basically tiny movements that make a big difference in muscle structure. It’s based on the Lotte Berk method (Lotte Berk was a former dancer who came up with exercises to recover from an injury) and incorporates pilates and yoga. I found out about them probably 10 years ago and found that the DVDs really do make a huge and quick difference in the shape of your body. You do NOT need a barre to do the exercises; a tall chair or counter-top works just fine. The only other things you may need are things you likely have in the house already: a mat (a carpeted surface is sufficient), a strap (yoga strap is great, but bathrobe belts or towels work, too!), and light free-weights (or canned food!).

Bar Method DVDs

The DVDs can come as a set or individually (if you happen to only be interested in one of them!). Oh, and unlike my last giveaway, these discs claim to be compatible with all DVD players and don’t list a region, so I assume you can view them wherever you are in the world… fingers crossed.

To enter, please leave me a comment (be sure you’re logged in so that I can access your e-mail address from your profile!) with the following:

1. Which prize(s) are you interested in?
2. What was the highlight of 2012 in your dance world (can be a personal achievement or a performance you saw or something you read or… anything!)?
3. What are you hoping to achieve dancer-wise in 2013 (again, can be personal or not, whatever you want!)?

I’ll keep the giveaway open until the Sunday, January 13th, and will select the winners at that time.

Good luck to all and best wishes for a happy, healthy, well-balanced, flexible, joyful, and strong 2013!

5 thoughts on “New Year, New You Giveaway!!!!

  1. 1. Both prizes
    2. My highlight was being able to perform in December at my school’s theatre award evening so soon after coming back from major injury involving moonboot and crutches.
    3. I am most looking forward to sitting stage 1 of my teaching/associate exams this year since I had to reschedule them last year.

  2. Jill says:

    1. Any prize would do :) though I’m not on pointe yet so I suppose either of the DVDs, but I’m not picky.
    2. My highlight was discovering the world of dance! I have always danced, but never in a formal setting (yep street style dancer through and through). In 2012 I began to “train” by joining adult beginner ballet, modern, lyrical and jazz classes and trying to get some semblance of a technique, and I’ve taken to classical training like a duck takes to water (I’m still miles behind everyone else technique-wise, but loving the challenge of pushing myself further)
    3. Because of a recent bout of unemployment, I was forced to stop my training a few months back. But I’ve found a new job, and am looking forward to resuming classes in the next week or two. My secret goal is to try out for the little local modern dance company in my town at the end of June. Fingers crossed!

    Hope you had a wonderful New Year, and I’m so happy when I see a new blog here. Thanks so much for sharing your story, it gives me a real confidence boost to hear from other Adult Dancers :)

  3. Sandra says:

    1. The DVDs (either). I am a long way from pointe!
    2. Being allowed, as a student, to participate in the company warm-ups before a professional dance performance. Being on stage with all of those “real” dancers, doing my best to keep up (and not doing too badly at that) during the warm-ups, was like being at dance fantasy camp!
    3. To get very solid on my turns. At the start of last year I couldn’t do any. (I am 47 years old and start taking ballet a year and a half ago.) After a year of practice I can can kind-of do a pique turn, soutenou turn, chane turns and single pirouette but they are all pretty shaky. I want to get them solid and consistent. I also want to increase flexibility — time to get those battements and developes past 90 degrees!

  4. […] Would love to read what your dance plans are for the year… and if you didn’t happen to see it, check out my New Year’s giveaway! […]

  5. 1. I would love to win the DVDs!
    2. Outside of an amazing year in the studio, my 2012 dance highlight was getting to see New York City Ballet and Pacific Northwest Ballet in the same week! I live in Detroit, where we unfortunately don’t have a resident professional company, so it was truly inspiring to watch such great companies perform.
    3. My 2013 dance goals are to improve my flexibility/turnout (seriously, who doesn’t want more flexibility and better turnout?) and start taking my studio’s advanced class – my teacher says I’m ready so now that the new year is here I should reach that goal soon!

Leave a Reply

